Email: committeeservices@horsham.gov.uk

**Direct line: 01403 215465** 



## **Annual Council Meeting**

Wednesday, 25th May, 2022 at 6.00 pm Park Suite, Parkside, Chart Way, Horsham

To: All Members of the Council

(Please note that prayers will be taken by Deacon Sarah Pitkeathly, Horsham Methodist Circuit, before the meeting commences)

You are summoned to the meeting to transact the following business

Jane Eaton Chief Executive

### **Agenda**

Page No.

- 1. Apologies for absence
- 2. To elect a Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year
- 3. To move a vote of thanks to the retiring Chairman
- 4. To appoint a Vice-Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year
- 5. To receive any announcements from the Chairman of the Council or the Chief Executive
- 6. To appoint the Overview and Scrutiny Committee of the Council for the ensuing year

To appoint 15 Members of the Council to the Overview and Scrutiny Committee

Note:

- 1. The Overview and Scrutiny Committee has the functions set out in Article 6 of the Council's Constitution
- 2. Neither Cabinet members nor the Chairman of the Council may be members of Overview and Scrutiny Committees
- 3. Political balance is determined by reference to the political balance on the Council as a whole

#### 7. Constitution of the Planning and Employment committees

Pursuant to the provisions of Section 17 (1) of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, to approve arrangements for the Planning Committees and Employment Committee to be constituted as set out in 8 and 9 (b) below respectively rather than political balance

#### 8. To appoint the Planning committees of the Council for the ensuing year, as follows:

- (a) Planning Committee (North) All Ward Members for the area of the Committee, namely: Horsham (unparished area) and the parishes of Broadbridge Heath, Colgate, Itchingfield, Lower Beeding, North Horsham, Nuthurst, Rudgwick, Rusper, Slinfold, Southwater and Warnham together with the Cabinet Member with responsibility for Planning & Development and the Chairman of the Planning Committee (South)
- (b) Planning Committee (South) All Ward Members for the area of the Committee, namely: the parishes of Amberley, Ashington, Ashurst, Billingshurst, Bramber, Coldwaltham, Cowfold, Henfield, Parham, Pulborough, Shermanbury, Shipley, Steyning, Storrington & Sullington, Thakeham, Upper Beeding, Washington, West Chiltington, West Grinstead, Wiston and Woodmancote together with the Cabinet Member with responsibility for Planning & Development and the Chairman of the Planning Committee (North)

#### 9. To appoint the following ordinary committees of the Council for the ensuing year:

- (a) Audit Committee (7 Members of the Council)
- (b) Employment Committee (3 Members of the Council (Chairman of the Council, Leader of the Council and Leader of the Minority Group plus a substitute pool of six additional Members))
- (c) Governance Committee (9 Members of the Council (including the Chairman of the Council, the Chairman of the Overview and Scrutiny Committee and one Member of the Cabinet))
- (d) Licensing Committee (15 Members of the Council)
- (e) Standards Committee (7 Members of the Council (including the Chairman of the Council and one Member of the Cabinet) Note: Plus 2 Parish Council Representatives nominated by the Horsham Association of Local Councils (already appointed) and 2 Independent Persons (already co-opted)

Note: Political balance on ordinary committees is calculated by reference to the aggregate number of seats on all ordinary committees

#### 10. To appoint Members to the Henfield Commons Joint Committee

Note: 3 Members of the Council: the 2 Members for the Henfield Ward and 1 Member from the Bramber, Upper Beeding & Woodmancote Ward

# 11. To appoint Members to the Cabinet Members' Policy Development Advisory Groups

To appoint up to 10 Members to each of the Cabinet Members' Policy Development Advisory Groups

#### 12. Ordinary meetings of the Council

(a) To confirm the programme of Ordinary meetings of the Council for the year, as follows:

Wednesday 22 June 2022 Wednesday 7 September 2022 Wednesday 19 October 2022 Wednesday 14 December 2022 Wednesday 22 February 2023 Wednesday 26 April 2023 Wednesday 24 May 2023 (Annual Meeting)

(b) To agree the time of Ordinary meetings of the Council for the ensuing year

Agenda Annex: SCHEDULE OF GROUP LEADER NOMINATIONS - Memberships for Committees and Policy Development Advisory Groups